Welcome Aboard, Now Shut Up and Listen

I’m not going to tell you the story you want to hear: you want to hear about my home world, or the war, or if I was in love with my last captain. I’ll answer that now, because otherwise you’ll just bug me about it constantly:

It was boring.

It was horrific.

None of your damned business and also he wishes .

There. Got that all out of the way, right? Don’t be disappointed, I have a better story for you. One that I bet you really want to know but are too afraid to ask. It’s too obscene, too terrifying, and I’m far too intimidating to approach.

You’d be right on all three counts. That’s not bravado; that’s what cheap knuckleheads have just before they get cleaved in half or lanced by a disrupter or eaten by some nameless monster on an even less remarkable world.

Those are tales told by idiots. Yeah, I quoted Shakespeare. What? You think just because I’m an engineer, I don’t read? Why—and don’t tell him I said this—but Hadley—my old XO who was really good looking—used to go on about the stuff. Shakespeare, not reading. Yes I’m getting to a point, damnit listen: it isn’t all wrenches, and grease, and miracles pulled hot and streaming from my transporter buffer. It’s about—well, why tell you when I can tell you?

It was 2399 and I was hanging around Earth Spacedock, hoping there’d be a disaster, so I’d have something to do. I was between postings after a useless three months on the West Friesland where I nearly airlocked my boss and his little dog, too. It doesn’t matter what it was about or why I’m dragging his dog into it. No, keep up, it’s about the most important thing:

Being right.